Articles about massage students & careers

Pompal 09.

Reaction score
I am looking for articles about massage students and careers in general. Specifically, I am interested in demographics, motivation, career longevity/satisfaction, that kind of thing.

I have been unsuccessful searching for this information myself online. I would appreciate any links you can provide.

For general information you could try the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

http://www.bls.gov/oco/ocos295.htm

If you are looking for previously published articles, you can find facts and relevant articles at http://www.amtamassage.org - be sure to check the online edition of Massage Therapy Journal on that site.

The massage school I graduated from also has a publication with relevant info: http://www.nwhealth.edu/alumni/nwnaturally

Here is a back issue that features a short article on me (as a student :oops: ) on page 35: http://www.nwhealth.edu/alumni/nwnaturally/sum06.pdf

You may also find some good info on the ABMP and NCBTMB web sites. Hope that helps!

Excellent! That is exactly what I need.

Now I would like some honest feedback from the real people out there. Sure, the articles and schools tell you all the best stuff about being a massage therapist. I know injuries and a short career (5-7 years) are two problems. What are some of the other negatives to consider before deciding on massage school?

Perhaps you could provide us with some background as to what you hope to accomplish by getting this information and as to if you will be utilizing it for an article or something?

Also, are you a therapist, potential student or in some other field related (or if not --- how'd you get here, and what are you doing right now)?

Enquiring minds want to know...... :smt028

Hee hee, I guess that information would be helpful. This isn't a site for psychics!