doctors letter please help

mina Si

Reaction score
I am a student of body massage I have got a client (uncle) that wants a full body massage but he suffers from high blood pressure and sugar I gave him a letter to give to his doctor to sign to say he can have the massage but the doctor read it but wouldnt sign it!!! But the doctor did say as far as he is concerned it is ok!!! What do i do????? Please will someone advise me

hello sabs,

difficult one - i had 2 case studiesfor holistic massage that needed doctors letters and it took me a good couple of weeks of persisence from myself and the client to get a letter for one of them.

did the dr give a reason for not signing the letter?

have you spoken to your tutor about it?

hi miss alaska
there was no reason given by the doctor and my college is closed for two weeks holiday, so I am really stuck

If you are with the VTCT / FHT for your course they have changed their guidelines in their code of conduct (I think cause of liability and doctors unwillingness to pass consent for a therapist they do not know to treat their clients - this islikely what's happened) and it they now suggest, as an alternative, that the client verbally confirms with their doctor that they can have treatments and the client can sign a disclaimer saying they have talked to their doctor and that consent was granted. That way they can phone the surgery and the onus is on them to state what they are told truthfully. This is different to the guidelines I was given a year ago with respect to the same thing. Have a look at your code and if it says that this is ok, go with it.

I did VTCT and for in college massages if the client had a condition that warranted permission from their GP then they were asked to talk to the GP and then asked if they had received GP consent and the client signed to say they had. (without it we wouldn't touch them).