Biggest Massage Oriented Forums on the Planet - Massage.forum | MassagePlanet.net | Massage.live | Massage.chat

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Get A REAL Job!!!???? (Long Post)

Dr Fegg

Reaction score
 I didnt know where to put this.....      What do you say to your fmaily when the keep telling you over and over to "get a real job"?  I graduated in December but have only doing massage as my job since June.  All my family sees is that i bring home on a good week 160$ (640$/month). I only do massage since I figure the best way to build my pratice is to be completly dedicated to it.  I spend several hours a day working on it weather I am in or out of the office. I try to explain to them that this IS a real job that it is a very Profitable (although thats not why Im in this career) and important career. Even my mom who knows another massage therapist in her home town who makes          1.000$/week (and has only been a MT for 2yrs) is telling me that I need a real or a sceond job and i can do massage on the side.  My oppinion is that I spend several thousand $ and months of my life to do this why should I get a "real job"?  I thought I had a REAL job.  I am finding more and more of my family are not supportive of my career choice and was wondering if any of you had ever had this problome. And any suggetions on what I should do would be great.  Sorry I had to vent but needed help. Thanks!