Biggest Massage Oriented Forums on the Planet - Massage.forum | MassagePlanet.net | Massage.live | Massage.chat

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

IHM with client on massage table

afqflosleaq

Reaction score
Hi folks - would welcome some feedback from those experienced IHm therapists amongst us.
My tutor mentioned to us when she is working with clients she offers them IHM on the massage table, as opposed to chair. She went on to say she would do the back massage element with almond oil, and obviously the client unlike traditional IHm, is undressed for this. We didn't hear anymore as unfortunately she left! Be interested to hear if any of you have experimented with delivering an IHM in this way.
love, janice x

Hi Janice,

I am studying IHM at the moment so no expert by any stretch. I have heard about this and had my doubts then.

With IHM you work on the face as well as the back of head etc. So what will you client do, turn over? It's not my idea of a relaxing treatment.

Interested to see if anyone has had it done or does this style of treatment.

All the best,

Russell

Hi Janice & Russell,

Glad to see some action on the Ind Head forum, it's gone very quiet lately!

As regards, Ind Head Massage on the couch, I am also currently studying Ind Head - we have been taught both ways ie how to give the massage in the chair and on the couch although obviously on the day with ITEC we will only be examined giving the massage in the chair.

Both our tutors have told us that in practice they rarely if ever give the treatment in the chair, that they feel it is far more relaxing and effective giving the massage on the couch. Also, all the therapists in the Clinic where I work give the treatment lying down.