Need some feedback on my rates!

Anie.

Reaction score
I need some feedback on my rates:

I am just starting out (not seeing clients just yet) and currently have my rates set at $60 an hour, tax included ($35 for 30 mins and $85 for 90 mins, also tax included). I'm beginning to wonder if that is a bit too low for my area (Minneapolis, MN). After tax, I would earn $56.07 for an hour. Most places in this area are $60-$70 an hour BEFORE tax. I don't want to feel like I should be raising my rates a few months, etc down the line. It's easier to go down than up, but I am just starting out. I want to offer a "fair" rate, but I don't want to undervalue my work. I am thinking maybe the following would be the way to go:

30 minutes: $35 tax included
60 minutes: $65 tax included
90 minutes: $85 tax included

For the record, I am trained in both shiatsu and therapeutic massage (Swedish, trigger point, deep tissue/rehabilitative techniques) and completed a 1,035 hour program.

Any veterans out there have any advice? Also, how do you decide how much more you charge for mobile services?

Thanks!

My best reply for you regarding how to set your rates is this: find out, either by calling around to different therapists, or by asking people you know who receive massage, what the rate is that they are paying and go from there.

In my area of Ohio, rates are widely varied for the same types of services - in general, a half-hour session will cost anywhere from $25.00 - $40.00 depending on the individual therapist, whether there is a Rx for massage, etc. Hour sessions cost from $35.00 to $65.00, with the average running around $50.00. My personal rates are near the higher end of that scale for several reasons: my experience, my education, my reputation for providing excellent care. Withing a 4 county area therapists are lucky to hit the high end of the above mentioned scale. Folks here are TIGHT with a dollar and then some.